Massive French construction comprising two bastions and two half-bastions. 21 artillery pieces were installed. The site blocks the entire width of the Quélern peninsula, preventing access to the Pointe des Espagnols to the north. The garrison at the time consisted of 300 coastguards and 900 men. In 1852, a square, bastioned Vauban reduction was built, surrounded by a moat. During the Second World War, the Lignes de Quélern were occupied and the occupying forces built several defensive bunkers, including an R671 casemate similar to those on the Pointe du Petit Gouin, off the Camaret roadstead. Today, the site is the property of the Ministry of Defense, and photography is prohibited. Military land. The réduit is a DGSE parachute center.