Close to Brest it was built by Vauban between 1693 and 1699 and improved and enlarged over time. The Portzic battery was the ultimate defense of the harbor and faces the Pointe des Espagnols battery.
All fortified constructions remain under military authority. The Portzic lighthouse (built in 1848) and a semaphore (1987) complete the ensemble.
In 1940, the Banque de France's gold was transported by rail to Brest, then stored in the Portzic fort's powder magazine before being loaded onto 5 ships bound for Casablanca, thus escaping the Nazis' greed.
Extract from the VIII Corps report
In the vicinity of Le Cosquer, the fortified strongpoints guarding the approaches to Fort du Portzic were attacked at nightfall by the 5th Scout Battalion (Rangers). The enemy was surrounded in this sector. To the east of the sector occupied by the Division, elements of the 115th and 116th regiments reached 1,500 meters from the wall, and a patrol of the 116th reached the cliff above the harbor near thesubmarine base.