Stele marking the site of the ALG A-11 airfield and in tribute to the 474th Fighter Group, 428th Fighter Squadron, 429th Fighter Squadron, 430th Fighter Squadron and the 38th Signal Battalion
The All (A=American) airfield was built on July 22, 1944 by the 832nd Airfield Engineering Battalion. It was declared operational on August 5, 1944, and was home to the 474th Fighter Group and its P-38 Lightnings (fighter bombers).
A hundred aircraft were parked on this 200-hectare airfield. Only three squadrons of 25 fighter-bombers each were operational.
The rest were used for liaison between the various airfields.
On August 23, the 474th Fighter Group had its day of glory, destroying a sizeable quantity of equipment and materials massed along the Seine behind the Falaise-Argentan pocket.
On August 25,23 pilots of the 474th Fighter Group took off from the airfield. 11 of them fell over the Oise after a gigantic battle with German fighters.
On September 5, 1944, the A-11 airfield was returned to the French authorities.