Just outside the village is the Abri d'Hitler, the fortified post built by Adolf Hitler to lead the French campaign from June 6 to July 4, 1940. A resistance museum has been added to the site. Alongside the RN 964, opposite the road leading to the village of Brûly, the Chapelle du Maquis, designed by architect Roger Bastin (originally from Couvin), commemorates the 47 members of Groupe D du Service de Sabotage Hotton hidden in the surrounding forests and victims of the war. Two hundred men stormed the hamlet on May 24, 1940. They built two chalets, two bunkers, a roundhouse and a water reservoir, and replaced the church steeple with a water tank to create a GQG (Grand Quartier Général).
On June 6, 1940, at around 1:30 p.m., Adolf Hitler arrived at his new headquarters. He immediately named it 'Wolfsschlucht' (Wolf's Ravine). For 22 days, from June 6 to 28, Adolf Hitler set up his main headquarters.
On June 17, 1940, Hitler learns of Marshal Pétain's resigned speech. It was in the church at Brûly-de-Pesche that France's act of surrender was drafted. Hitler corrected it on June 20. On the 21st, he made a quick round trip to Rethondes, leaving the armistice to be concluded. By 8 p.m., he was back. At 1.35 a.m. on June 25, the trumpets sounded the "Halt" signal everywhere. It was the end of the fighting.
On June 28, 1940, Hitler's stay at Brûly-de-Pesche came to an end. He took off at 7.30 a.m. for Strasbourg, before moving on to his new GQG, Tannenberg in the Black Forest.
During the German presence in the village (from May 28 to June 29), the inhabitants of over twenty surrounding villages had to leave their homes and were forcibly evacuated by the German occupiers. Source Wikipedia