KilRoyTrip was here
Position Bas

Demarcation line Saint-Martin-l'Ars

Détail

  • Nom
    Demarcation line Saint-Martin-l'Ars
  • Lieu
    SAINT-MARTIN-L'ARS
  • Contribution
    Eric Le Bourvellec
  • ID
    3208.3332

Partagez

Historic Places
Demarcation line Saint-Martin-l'Ars
Demarcation line Saint-Martin-l'Ars

Panel text: Following the Franco-German armistice of June 22, 1940, the demarcation line was established by the Germans on June 25. This line separates France into two unequal parts until November 11, 1942, when German troops enter the "unoccupied" zone. A true internal frontier, it crosses thirteen départements over a distance of 1,200 km. The part to the north of this line is then called the "occupied zone" and is placed under German authority, the part to the south is called the " libre " or "non-occupied" zone and remains under the authority of the French government installed in Vichy.

The Saint-Martin-l'Ars building

Near the château, this cinderblock construction is located on the route de Payroux, opposite the German post set up on the RD 28 road. It is the only solid building on the entire line in the Vienne, which partly explains its preservation. The gatehouses were most frequently built of wood and associated with a movable barrier. After the war, the building was used as a hearse shelter. This communal building serves as a physical reminder of the existence of the demarcation line in the commune, so that we don't forget this episode in our history.

Photo credit and contribution Le Bourvellec Eric

 
Demarcation line Saint-Martin-l'Ars
Demarcation line Saint-Martin-l'Ars.
Lieux Historiques
Demarcation line Saint-Martin-l'Ars
Demarcation line Saint-Martin-l'Ars.
Lieux Historiques

Demarcation line Saint-Martin-l'Ars

Kilroytrip Android application