Monument in tribute to the 2nd Infantry Division on the very site of WN65. Also on the bunker a plaque in tribute to the Provisional Engineer Special Brigade GroupAu Ruquet, le 6 juin, première route ouverte vers l'intérieur
On 6 juin 1944 around 10 a.m., hundreds of men were stranded here on the beach, among destroyed barges In front of them,the vallon du Ruquet, protected by gentle fortified points.
Today,Only a cannon is still visible in its blockhouse.
Touched by fire from a ship that approached 1 km away. It was definitively destroyed by a halftrack.
At once, the American engineers opened up this road to the plateau and, at around 15 fleures, heavy American equipment was using this first and only clearance of the Omaha siteThe blockhaus served as the HQ for the 1st "Big Red One" Division and soon thousands of GI's were using this Freedom Road.
The Engineers continued their work, quickly building the artificial harbor and, on the plateau an airfield which enabled the evacuation of 11,030 wounded in June and July 1944.